First Dedication Ceremony

The first dedication ceremony for the Books of Remembrance was held at the 1949 Convention in Edmonton at the University of Alberta’s Convocation Hall. The AWI recognized the importance of the Books by depositing them with the Archives of the Provincial Library after the convention for safekeeping.

A blue velvet scarf was laid on the table by Mrs. D.W. Patterson and the book was laid thereon; then Mrs. Morton read the names now entered in the Book: Mrs. Emily Murphy, Mrs. James Boyd, Mrs,. J.N. Beaubier, Mrs. Wm. A. Brown, Mrs. J.F. Price, Mrs. John L. Scott, Mrs. D.R. McIvor, Mrs. Catherine A. Gates and Mrs. E.R. Morley, while Mrs. Patterson dropped a rose petal on the Book as each name was read. Mrs. Montgomery then followed with a dedication: ‘They shall not grow old as we that are left grow old. Age shall not weary them nor the years condemn. At the going down of the sun and in the morning we shall remember them.’

Mrs. S. Lefsrud sang Tennyson’s ‘Crossing the Bar’ accompanied on the pipe organ by Mrs. J. M. Meikle of Edmonton. Mrs. Meikle also played softly on the organ throughout the services. (Home and Country, June 1949, 4)